Making a little red riding hood

As a break from my Sleeping Beauty dress, I decided to get a head start on the main component of my Halloween costume, the hood.

I did this project over the course of two afternoons, so around 10 hours of work.

SAMSUNG CSC

Materials:

  • Pattern cutting board
  • Pattern
  • Fabric
  • Scissors
  • Pins
  • Sewing Machine
  • Thread in whatever color you’d like

Bonus materials:

  • Thread matching the thread your machine is using
  • Hand sewing needles

The first step (after you’ve cut out your pattern of course) is to cut out your fabric according to your pattern (I’m doing view B). I used 45″ wide fabric and ended up having two back panels, two front panels, two pieces of front facing, two panels for the hood, and two pockets.

Stitch together the back panels. Then attach the front panels on each side of the, now singular, back panel and stitch those down. I backstitched (when I backstitch, I start in the backwards direction, go about 10 stitches and then switch to the regular forward moving stitches) at the end of every seam for added security.

Then it’s the hood. Sew the hood panels together, then do a flat felled seam along that seam. Then tuck the raw edge of the front of the hood in and sew that down.

Don’t bend your sewing machine needle by trying to go through thick folds of wool though.

20150909_143553

Whoops. I hand sewed over seams when I was connecting things so that I wouldn’t damage anymore needles.

Then attach the hood and facing to the neck seam. Sew that down. Easy peasy.

Sew the sides of the front facing to the sides of the front panels. This hides all the gnarly seams you’ve got going on, for the most part.

Before hemming:

20150909_125235

Then hem the whole thing.

After hemming:

20150909_164925

Lastly, or firstly, depending on how decisive you are: pockets. I have never made pockets before, but I tried. I whipstitched the top seam of the pocket just because I could.

20150908_164107

I don’t know if I’m going to attach the pockets yet or not, but I have ’em if I want ’em.

All I have left to do is to iron it and decide if I want snaps or hooks, or just a clasp at the top. That’s all self-explanatory though.

Leave a Reply

